+4 and -10 dB inputs a question

Hi,
i have a question about +4/-10 bB inputs. I understand, on my adat anyway, that the +4 inputs are balanced which is good for various reasons. What I dont understand is that to get a decent level when using the +4 inputs ( as opposed to the -10 inputs) I have to pump the mic pres more than when I use the the -10 inputs.

Doesnt this just add more mic pre noise to the final signal.

I have said it before and ill say it again, but im sure on this issue im missing somethin really basic.

Im very new to using +4 inputs but so far have found that when pumping the pres this much im raising that low mic crackling noise floor to an audible level.

I go mic to mackie vlz to adat.

Thx all. A

Andy;

I had a roadie from a VERY famous rock band call me one time complaining that he couldn’t get a good level out of an audio processor I designed. I went down to the rehersal studio to see what was wrong. He had his electric guitar plugged directly into the +4 input. I asked why he was using the +4 input and he said, “well, +4 is the professional level and we’re professionals!” Ahhhhhhhhh!!!

Anyhow, the right answer in your case is simple - what sounds better? If you need to drive the pres very hard to get a decent signal on a +4 input that’s probably not the right choice. Besides the level difference, +4dBm inputs are usually low impedance (600ohms) whereas -10dBV is usually high impedance (10K or more). Your preamp may not be designed to drive low impedance loads.

Finally, the benefits of a +4dBm balanced input are really only significant in electromagnetically noisy environments (such as from theater light dimmers, radio interference, etc.) and over long cable runs. In a typical home studio there is not much to be gained. Use -10 if that works best.

Good post, slowfingers.