A Drumming problem

open-handed

Hi,

I started learning drumset around 6 month ago as our church drummer went to university and I thought I’d give it a bash - lol!

Things have been going well but I’ve come across a bit of a problem. I recently bought a Pearl H-2000 hi-hat stand but I doesn’t go down far enough in relation to my snare. (I play open-handed so I want the hats just about level with the snare).

My temporary solution has been to raise everything else to the lowest hat level. This is all well and good but it’s meant that my drum stool is now very high. At first I didn’t think this was a problem but I’m finding it more difficult to play some kik drums pattern that I had no trouble with before and, I’m getting back pain problems too.

What I want to know is how to cut down the outer hi-hat pipe to enable me to lower the hats.

Does anyone have any experience of this?

Thanks

Mike

I use an old Dremel tool that has an abrasive saw attachment. It basically a disk that grinds through just about anything. It’s much quicker and easier than a hack saw. It doesn’t put any pressure on it so there’s little chance of the tube bending out of round.

A possible necessity that might not be easy, depending on the hi-hat, is what part needs to be cut off. The top locking collar on the bottom half may need to come off - cut off the top of the tube and replace the collar. That was easy with my old Tama hardware. IT will not be easy to remove if it’s spot welded on. I tapped it with a hammer - short even taps all around and it popped right off (actually due to poor Tama construction back then). After cutting off the tube I tapped the collar back on. There had been a small C pin in there to hold it secure, but through the years it had come loose and was long gone. I put a properly sized sheet metal screw in there and a little metal mender and all was good for the next 20 years.