Altering voices (speach)

Hi, first post here.

I’m totally new to recording and mixing audio, yet I find myself needing to record multiple voice trax. Problem is I have one voice artist who needs to be 20 people.

The Talent is great, gets right into character, but under all his tricks, eventually you start hearing the same voice.

Any tricks of the trade. Is there something I can do that will help make I sound like we?

Thanks in advance

Not really. You can use pitch shifting, some of the pitch shifters have the ability to change the voice’s “gender,” and you can play tricks with eq, panning, delays, and have the singer try to sing in different voices. Are you going for a large chorus effect? You’d also need to think about the acoustic space for all of those singers. But it still won’t sound like a lot of different people.

No way to make necessity a virtue?

The old way was the opposite of pitch shifting. Change the speed of the tape and force the singer to sing in a different range at a different tempo. The pitch and timing comes out right when the tape is played at the correct speed but the natural tone is slightly different. This can be done using a wave editor. Do a mix and shift it up or down in pitch in a wave editor, but don’t compensate for time. Let it play slower or faster. That what you want. Keep tabs on the EXACT amount of shifting. Import that changed wave into n-Tracks and record some voices to that. Open the vocal tracks in the wave editor and shift them the exact same amount in the opposite direction, putting them back in the same key as the original, again not compensating for time or temp. You want the vocals to speed up or slow down to match the original. Import the changed vocals back into the original song. As long as there are no resampling errors everything should just line up. Resampling of this type does no touch the data, it simply changes the sample rate in the header. It acts just like speeding up or slowing down a tape deck.