Any electronics gurus here?

Hey all, it was 20 years ago I did my electronics degree and the brain has got all fuzzy since then since all I do is software management nowadays.

I have a small combo, practice, amp that has failed. It just gives out a 50hz hum. The power supply is via a 4 diode bridge rectifier with some caps to smooth it out. I’ve measured the DC output of the rectifier circuit and all seems well, HOWEVER, I get about 40V AC too. That doesn’t sound right and is probably my hum-source.

I can’t remember the failure modes of BR power supplies. Would a shorted/open diode cause this or is it one of the caps that is the likely suspect.

Any real world experience or theory appreciated.

Cheers

Xon

If you’re getting AC out of a bridge rec, the diodes ain’t dioding! :)

So yes, at least 1 diode is O/C.

The caps are only for smoothing, so if they were gone you’d have increased ripple on the DC, but they wouldn’t produce AC.

I assume the caps are big electrolytics; if they are old, they might have dried out, but if they’ve blown it’s usually pretty obvious.

Have you a 'scope?

the bridge rec should produce a fully rectified 100Hz waveform, the caps then smooth that to a smooth DC.

Thanks gizmo. No access to a 'scope unfortunately.

I’ll grab some diodes and replace all 4.

Cheers

Well I think I’d analyze the problem more before replacing things. :)

Lift a leg on each diode, and then you can test them with a multimeter, should be 0.6-0.7 of a volt drop one way, and O/C the other way.

And an important question is, if it’s not an old amp, and a diode is dead, why did the diode die?

What Gizmo said…if it IS an old amp then I bet it’s a dried out cap.

Quote (Guest @ Mar. 27 2007,13:34)
Well I think I'd analyze the problem more before replacing things. :)

Lift a leg on each diode, and then you can test them with a multimeter, should be 0.6-0.7 of a volt drop one way, and O/C the other way.