Attempt at Mastering pt.2

Hey everyone
Sorry for posting the useless one the other day. So here is a link with some mp3’s that are high res and some low res wma’s. Thanks for any comments.
Jeromee

Slingblade

Hey Jeromee,

This is some good stuff, man! I haven’t quite gotten through it all yet, but I wanted to post some general first impressions for now while I have some time. I think “Listen” is mastered well IMO–I can hear every instrument, the vocals are right there, sounds sweet to my ears. I’m not a pro, but that’s my basic definition of good mastering. I guess if I had to suggest anything, it might be that the snare might be a little overcompressed, but that’s a nit considering. “Cowshed”…boy that’s an a55kicker of a song! I’m not much of a guitar player, but I’m already trying to play that fast riff (feel free to give hints on picking and fingering–I’d be proud of myself if I could play that sucker! :D ). And the lyrics are right on. The only complaint I have is that the snare sounds kind of muffled, like the high-end has been EQ’d off. I didn’t really notice it until I happened to play it right after “Listen”, then it stood out much more. I think if you choose one song as a yard stick to measure the others by, it might be “Listen”.

Anyway, those two songs are my favorites so far. The others I have given only quick listens to so far (and some only partial), and they are sounding good. I was kind of thrown off by the vocal distortion in “Who You Know”…but I think I get your intention, so I can’t say it needs to be removed. Anyway, great work, and if I get more time I’ll try to give more opinions after more listening (if you don’t get fed up with them, that is :D ). Thanks for the tunes, and good luck with the CD…

Tony

Hey Tony