Audio and Video at the same time

Any programs out there that will let you record the video output from a camcorder and the stereo audio output from a mixer at the same time?

Eyup!

Windows Movie Maker will do that- free with your copy of XP!

Steve

Any special kind of input needed to get the video in…firewire etc???

Eyup!

No special kind of interface. It will work with whatever video capture device you have.

I used it with an analogue capture card (composite video in) and it worked fine.
You can also import clips from your computer and edit them.

I’m not an expert with it, I’ve only used it the once but, as I remember it wasn’t too difficult to use, just time consuming to edit the video and re-assemble it again.

You can either import sound and video together, or import a sound track afterwards.

Hope it works for you chuck.

Steve

Okay Beefy. Thanks for the info.

I’ve struggled with this. I have tried to use a USB Dell Video Capture device and a Dell PCI Capture device. Both are based on the Angel chip. So far I have found one shareware app (limited captures until you pay) that will “see” the devices. Movie Maker and Nero neither will recognize the device at all. Furthermore, in the one app I was getting dropouts that were along the lines of 30 second gaps in capturing. That’s not useful.

Any suggestions about hardware that will work with Movie Maker or Nero?

Quote (phoo @ Sep. 26 2006,20:49)
Any suggestions about hardware that will work with Movie Maker or Nero?

Eyup!

I must have been lucky Phoo.

The input device I used was a cheap (very) PCI TV tuner card with a composite video input.

I never even tried to get the TV side of it working.

Movie Maker recognised it straight away.

I have no idea what chip it was based on.

Steve

I’ve been converting all my old VHS tapes and camcorder movies over to DVD using this:

Plextor ConvertX USB2 video converter (uses hardware MPEG conversion)