Australian Election Results

http://vtr.aec.gov.au/Default.htm

Looks like John Howard and his band of merry Liberals are going to stay in power, having even gained a few more seats from Labor. The more worrying part is that they’ve got 50% of the upper house now, so they’ll be able to crash more legislation through, whereas the Democrats were holding them back a bit (gotta love it when a bill that would enable the sitting goverment to push bills through easier gets stopped).

Regardless, whoever won, it was always going to be a case of:

"Meet the new boss/same as the old boss."

Willy.

Willy, what exactly does “liberal” mean in Australia? I’m no expert on your politics, but I was just a tad surprised, given what I’d read about disatisfaction with Howard. Hard to get a good picture here of the politics there. So little is reported.

edit: I should add, if I knew what news sources to look at there, it wouldn’t be so hard! :)

Tom,

I am a US citizen living here and I’ve just about got it sussed out.

Oz speak — US Speak
======= ========
Liberal — Conservative
Labor — Liberal
Green — think Ralph Nader

I don’t know how the ossie parties got their names, but I am not really sure how the US parties did either :stuck_out_tongue:

- Ben

There are actually just two parties in either place…

“More of the Same Party”
"The Other Guys"

Or in America…
Republican – The Right
Democrat – The Left
Libertarian – The Far Left and The Far Right (common sense dictates no middle ground)
Green – The Hippies
Anarchist – Not The Hippies
The Rest of Us – The Rest of Us

:)

I like that phoo… That really covers it…

Here it’s The Party Names really don’t matter…

If your part of the government you’re in store for more…

If your’re not you are in store for less…

But don’t get cought with your finger in the till, no matter who you support…

And, the rest of us pay…

Bill…