Bit of a disaster

n track

Hi
I am a semi professional recording engineer. I have helped an amateur music friend of mine from time to time with his recordings. He uses n track and recently upgraded from version 4 to version 6. Mostly I help him get his track timing in order, and I hate to say this, but anyone who is more advanced than a complete amateur would not spend more than five minutes putting up with this programs flaws. The time marker skips on without reason, there endless problems getting loops to line up apart from other irritating details. Man this is a seriously frustrating program. There should be a basic and a pro version, there are far too many features that are of any use for most of your users, these are interfering with the actual enjoyment of recording and making music.

Well, sorry you had problems. First thing to note is that verion 7 is the newest build. I will say the problems you discribe tend to be more computer specific and can usually be corrected in the settings. I don’t remember if there were any timing probelms with verions 6. Where you using a demo version?
What kind of interface and what kind of sound driver are you using? What speed hard drive are you using? Is it possible that the hard drive is not writing to disk properly?
If the problems are with version 7, send the details to support and see if they can help with the problem - they will help with earlier version too. Many of us have been using N_track for years with few problems and others run into the kind of frustration you mentioned and give up on the program. I gave up on Protools, supposedly the premire program because the learning curve was simpley too steep. I guess I am a semi-professinal also, and I have had good luck with N-track. I hope you find the problem that is causing the timing issue.
Bax

I just moved an earlier post that where I had sysc issues. Perhaps it will help.

Quote: (lastperfectday @ Oct. 01 2012, 12:34 PM)