Boomy mixes

I seem to be having some trouble mixing in Ntrack (probably not Ntracks fault!), and trying to track down the source. Most of my mixes are coming out quite boomy sounding, that’s about the best way I can describe it. Lots of bass and mud, not enough clarity. (This is mostly metal type music).

I know this can be a variety of factors, such as recording, mics, room noise, eq, reverb etc…

Is it common to have to eq the bass out of everything to bring the boominess level down? I admit I am not too good with eq, and don’t know how to properly adjust it track by track in ntrack. (i.e. do I just use the three knobs, or do I have to go in an make minute adjustments)?

Hi Arioch.
Im not expert, but if you want tweak a final result file a little, you can start with a triple compresor plugin like this

edmon old post (shareware
or this one
Freeware one

Hey
You could insert the para eq into the stereo master bus and examine the eq with the fft analyzer.It is in ver4 I don’t know about the earlier releases as I just started using ver4. Boominess usually runs from 70 down to 20 Hz. You could try and cut those freq a little but be careful because the kick really moves air in that range, and with metal I imagine you would want that. You can narrow the sweep of the boost or cut also. If you can, post a song to hear as we all do better with our ears. Good luck
Jeromee

Sorry I can’t post anything, I know that the sound will speak a thousand words. :slight_smile:

I’ve sent the mix through the Ozone mastering plugin and applied judicious compression, and some eq, to fix it, but I think I should be fixing it in the mix instead of trying to fix it in the master phase.

I’ll try playing with Ntracks Eq a little more.

I’ve just found this on Audiominds which should help :slight_smile:
http://www.audiominds.com/mixing/eq_ntrack.php