buffers

buffer problem

I am new to n-track and I am hoping to use a portable laptop (pentium III, 1000 Mhz) to record some things on. I am using the laptop because it is nice and quiet. I have a 3.6 Mhz machine but it is noisy as ####.

Anyway for the laptop I can’t seem to get the buffer size right. Either I can hear a delay or I can hear static and noise. Is the buffer size a function of the machine, or is it something else? I am worried about the delay once I start laying down tracks, am I going to get a delay in the playback and live track?

Thanks
Troy

I’d set it to use the wdm drivers, crank the buffers up, and use the red button to start recording, and don’t press the “live” button.

But how can you multi-track without using the Live button?

You select which tracks to record either from the timeline, or the recording VU. There’s a red arming button that when you click on, lets you select stereo, mono, or disabled.

As a general rule you don’t need the Live button at all unless you need to monitor with effects (reverb, distortion).

Willy.