Cant Hear Playback

Soundcard change gives me problems

hi guys, ive been using N for over 3 years in my friends studio with no problems on a SB live souncard, slowly learning the features as we went. has been great for making mix cd’s

recently tho we changed the main motherboard & souncard to a Creative E-MU 0404 for better recording,

Before we used to “line in” to the SB live from mixer using a L & R RCA to 3.5ml jack and “line out” 3.5ml jack to L & R RCA to my amp.

Since changing we use the L & R channel 1/4 inch master output from the mixer into the red and white 1/4 inputs on the E-MU soundcard & we used the onboard realtek sound card for playback through a line out to the amp.

now when we open N we get 6 recording V-U meters on the left instead of the regular 2 which would have normally shown the left and right channels, also since we changed the soundcard we are unable to hear the playback of tracks even tho the playback vu meter is bouncing away.

i think its something to do with recording from the E-Mu & playback coming from the onboard Realtek soundcard in the motherboard because when we load the wavs into our external editor (cooledit pro) we can hear the sound fine (all sound works when watching movies or in mediaplayer)

any ideas??

Quote: (the d.o.c @ Sep. 04 2007, 10:48 PM)

hi guys, ive been using N for over 3 years in my friends studio with no problems on a SB live souncard, slowly learning the features as we went. has been great for making mix cd's

recently tho we changed the main motherboard & souncard to a Creative E-MU 0404 for better recording,

Before we used to "line in" to the SB live from mixer using a L & R RCA to 3.5ml jack and "line out" 3.5ml jack to L & R RCA to my amp.

Since changing we use the L & R channel 1/4 inch master output from the mixer into the red and white 1/4 inputs on the E-MU soundcard & we used the onboard realtek sound card for playback through a line out to the amp.