Casio Blues

Original Blues by Jobless-Recovery

Hi,

When you have a chance, go to my band’s web site,
Jobless-Recovery: A Boston-area Blues Band and check out the music page for Casio Blues, an example of an original Blues shuffle done with n-track studio. This track uses canned drums and bass, but more tunes with the full band are planned.

This was my first home recording project. Despite being a complete novice and only having very basic hardware and studio environment (the mic was plugged directly into a SoundBlaster Live card!) to work with, I was impressed with the result. Mix hasn’t been compressed yet, which I understand is a must.

Just got an analog mixer to handle multiple mics with better preamps and monitoring capabilities. First tests with my National Steel very promising…

Take care,
-Jim

The tone of the organ and guitar sound fine. You can tell that the drums and bass especially are synthetic. I realize you are going to update when available.

Nice organ work!

You said this was an original blues song but it sounds an aweful lot like Tore Down by Clapton. :( I would get rid of the rhythm riffs if you plan on going further as an original.

Keep recording. It gets easier! ???

Sax

Sax,

Thanks for the quick reaction. I’m more interested in production (or lack thereof in my case!) critiques from this forum rather than the playing. But I’ll pass the kudos on.

re: drums and bass–yes, they stink. Actually, it was taken directly from a patch in a cheap Casio keyboard, hence the name. We intend to replace it with real players–and a Hammond organ–soon.

re: “I’m tore down”: Yes, the rhythm is stock, very similar to “I’m tore down” (it’s a patch!), and 10’s of other Blues shuffles. Blues, as you all know, has a tradition of borrowing bits from others; see Eric Clapton w.r.t Albert King, Muddy Waters, Freddie King; Muddy w.r.t. Robert Johnson; Johnson w.r.t Skip James. I don’t think we’re breaking any rules here.