Compressor

Where?

Hi, I’m new to using v 6.0 and wanted to know where to put a compressor. I’ve rendered my mix and have the stereo track up. Should I put the comp on the “track” or the "master main out?"

thx,
Lou

either / or

If you are mixing for CD from 24 bit to 16 - don’t forget to dither on the master channel @ 0.

Hi.

Put it where it needs it, and/or where you want it for effect.

Depends on what you want to compress, the over all mix? or a particular instrument.
If it’s a particular instrument you need to go back to the multi track mix and insert the compressor on the instrument.
Or master compressor for final mix.

If you are Poppa W you need to insert the Wither plug not Dither, it’s the plug for old fellas! :laugh:

Since I want to make the overall mix louder, my question is now answered that i need to insert the comp on the master channel.

Thank you, Lou

What my habit was for years was to mix down to a stereo wav file as usual - then create a new song import the wav - clean up the beginning and ending (fade out) and my favorite little mix effect - Flavio’s n-Track multiband compressor. I used the Mastering 2.4dB preset - very little to do past that unless you want to tweek the low mid or highs - play with it, then mixdown to mp3.

Place to start anyway.

Quote: (Poppa Willis @ Dec. 20 2008, 12:58 AM)

What my habit was for years was to mix down to a stereo wav file as usual - then create a new song import the wav - clean up the beginning and ending (fade out) and my favorite little mix effect - Flavio's n-Track multiband compressor. I used the Mastering 2.4dB preset - very little to do past that unless you want to tweek the low mid or highs - play with it, then mixdown to mp3.

Place to start anyway.

I did this the same way also, but have gone to a faster step now (thanks to Dubious/Diogenes/Bama Dude)