Converting .wav to .mp3

24kbps @ 22kHz

Hi,

I’m trying to get wave files converted to mp3 at 24kbps & 22kHz (mono) but the n-track converter doesn’t do it and all the converters I’ve looked at don’t either.

It’s pretty important to get this format as I’m looking to use it for playing files on a flash player on a web-site I’m working on for my wife. Problem is that 11kHz wont work on the flash player (needs to be 22 kHz and above) and 32kbps and above is really too fast for the dial-up connection version.

At present I’m using 32kbps @ 22kHz but it’s going to be pretty off-putting for the dial-up user as the player tends to pause in the early stages of streaming the file and my feeling is that will prove unacceptable.

Does anyone know of a converter that would convert .wav to .mp3 at 24kbps & 22kHz?

Thanks

Mike

AEDTools will do it, but none are free.

I use Advanced Encode Decode Tools most the time.

I’m no expert, but you might check out DbPowerAmp. I use WMA, myself, but i believe it does MP3 too.

teej

I just checked, dbpoweramp won’t go below 32kbps.
Who the heck would listen to such a crappy file anyhow?

dbpoweramp dont have the mp3 option for free, due to license troubles. You can look for Razorlame and lame.exe. They will do a good job for free.

Razorlame:
http://www.dors.de/razorlame/index.php

Lame.exe/dll:
http://www.rarewares.org/mp3.html

I believe Audacity will create an mp3 at the bit rate you need.

Thank you one and all; much appreciated!

Mike

Ok, I’ve found one that will do 24kbps @ 22Khz.

I take your point teryeah that the sound quality is poor but as this particular conversion is for dial-up users I’ll have to live with it - broadband users will get a better one.

My question now relates to mixing the wav file for mp3 conversion. I seem to recall that certain parts of the audio spectrum suffer more than others and I’d like to reduce the “phaser” effect I seem to be getting on the 24kbps version.