drum loop creation suggestions

Hi everyone

Im a musician who writes mostly acoustic pop rock arrangements and altho i get by a lot with recording other instruments and vocals…im asking for suggestion about drums.

the drums are not the primary priority instruments in my tracks tho they arent buried deep in the mix either so therefore i create my own drum loops using leafdrums and using tom hicks acoustic kit samples.

the samples sound great and ive been able to create nice beats…but it still sounds “too” sterile as its no surprise since im creating them through a sequencer via leafdrums.

im horrible using a midi keyboard and laying drum tracks drum by drum. with the method im using so far with what i got…do you guys have any further suggestions to enhance my drum loops?
they dont have to sound like an absolute live drummer but it should be far more subtle too

thanks so much!!!

I use Jamstix for my drums now.
A lot quicker than programming midi drums and sounds a lot better too.

After n-Track, the best bit of software I’ve ever bought!

This is the first song I’ve finished using Jamstix (got a few others in various stages of completion…)
Flower

The Jamstix forum is pretty good and Ralph is super responsive to any bugs identified or feature requests.

Rich

Another vote for Jamstix!

I have used leafdrums a lot myself. It’s pretty nifty as drum sequencers go but, like all sequencers, you have to program every single hit and it’s just sooo tedious. I can do a decent job with it but it would take a mountain of work to make it sound like a human drummer.

Jamstix is just plain easy and sounds better than anything I could sequence. You can just let it do it’s own thing which requires almost no work on your part. Or you can get as detailed as you want. You’ve got to check out the free demo at least.

hth,
mrtoad

[Edit]A BIG thanks to RichLum for pointing the board to Jamstix in the first place many moons ago.[/Edit]