Electronic Drums

MIDI?! What tha?!

hi guys, i am interested in buying an electronic drumset and am looking for any advice… wihan on here has offered up some great help, but i figure that the more sources, the better…

i’m sure many of you are doing this, but i am still learning, so please be patient… my goal is to use an electronic drumset and sound module to record midi events… i have a 16 pad midi controller that i’ve been using, and it is great for what it is, but i prefer to have my arms flailing about…

at my disposal, i have fruity loops 5 fruity loops edition, ntrack 4, and adobe audition 1.5… the ultimate goal is to sit and play a drum part, then be able to export audio from the sound module into a separate track for each input/drum/trigger… i need to be able to trigger many different pads at once… i’ve been told that in order to do this, i will need a sound module that has midi in and out, as well as software to turn the midi events into audio…

i have read a good bit on the subject, but am still confused about how to get this to work… i even visited guitar center today, and am a bit more educated, but no one there had ever triggered like this using a drum set… however, they assured me it was possible…

any advice would be great…

thanks,
isaac

MIDI - most modules will have MIDI I/O. But the output from MIDI is a separate entity from the audio. Neither the twain will meet.

So a module will have at least a stereo output, and at least one MIDI in and one MIDI out. At this point, software is not required. The drum triggers go into the module and you have a choice of tapping from the audio or from the MIDI out. It’s all inside the module…nothing else externally is needed. The audio outs are usually used for some type of monitoring system and main PA system. But they can be used to record by connecting them to the input of your soundcard.