Equipment???

i’m looking to set up to record high quality. so i’m curious to know what kind of equipment i need. i’ve been using n-track since 2002 (somewhere around there) but all i have is my computer and a line in which i use a 1/4 in. to headphone transfer jack. So one thing is i could probably use is a good sound card rather than the factory one, but I’m learning that perhaps a mixer would be a good idea as well. Ive been lookin at an AudioTrak maya44 MKII and a digidesign mbox (sound cards), both seem pretty promising but the mbox is a little pricey for me and it comes with all its own recording software and such when i already have n-track, but it still seems pretty fancy…so yeah i’m open to some suggestions here as what i should be lookin into…

(im only hookin up guitar and bass for now)

thanks

-dan ???

I use the AudioTrak maya44 mk I, i.e. not supporting 24 bit, 96 kHz. Apart from that, a very decent-sounding card considering its price tag. Driver installation was found to be a bit awkward and cumbersome, involving no less than six (6!) scheduled reboots (i.e. not by fault, but by design). However, drivers are extremely robust and stable, supports ASIO (i.e. low latency - important when overdubbing), and represents value for money.

This card is, however, a bit dated nowadays. Today, I would consider a FireWire soundcard with at least four inputs/outputs given that the computer in conjunction with which it is to be used supports FireWire. Avoid Edirol equipment.

Regarding mixing desks, go for a small (4 or 8 channels) mixer having balanced inputs, phantom power and at least one effects loop as the minimum specs. I have an Alto S-8 I like very much. You should check out their range together with Yamaha, Soundcraft, Samson and Mackie. Behringer if you are on a budget. Again, avoid Edirol equipment.

regards, Nils

<!–QuoteBegin>

Avoid Edirol equipment…Again, avoid Edirol equipment