evolution/m-audio keyboards and n-track?

do they work together?

Just bought my son an m-audio keystation 49e (same as evolution 249, I’m told) - I can’t get it to connect to n-track. Has anyone managed to do so? How well did it work?

Yep - I’ve got a keystation 49 which works with n-track. I’ve got midi settings set up as follows:

Ta
John

Thanks John

Got it working now

Cheers

DH

Hello. I’m new to MIDI. Up to this point I’ve stuck to recording audio tracks.

I got the same MIDI keyboard (M-Audio 49) for Christmas and there seems to be a considerable lag between the time I press a key and the time I hear it through my PC speakers (half a second, maybe). This will definitely not work, as my intention is to record a keyboard part while playing back audio that I’ve already recorded. The timing will be horribly off.

Is there some setting in n-track that I need to tweak to fix this ?

Any help/suggestion is greatly appreciated!

This is probably down to your buffering settings. You tend to be able to set these lower when using WDM or ASIO drivers for your souncard, then you reduce the setting in File/Settings/Buffering Settings (and external to n-track, in the souncard’s control panel for ASIO) until you start hearing pops and clicks , then increase it to the setting above. You also need the “Live” button to be pressed in n-track.

Ta
John

Thanks for the suggestions.

Unfortunately, I think this may require a hardware upgrade to resolve. I’m using the sound card that came with my PC (about 2 years old). It’s a 16-bit Analog Devices card that uses a SoundMAX Digital Integrated Audio driver. I’ve made sure the drivers are up to date, but this doesn’t seem to help.