First Mixing Attempt

Feedback on Mix and such

Hi Everyone,

I’m new to the N-track forums and I would like to submit a song that I’ve been working on.
I’m trying to get everything to balance correctly.
I’m also working on compresson and reverb with the vocals.
Not sure if it’s the best it can be.
The compression and reverb is from N-track, and I’m not very good at using it.
Would like some feedback on how to use them effectively.
Thanks in advance!

The Song: http://www.soundclick.com/clocmosley

-Mosley

Woah!!! Welcome, Mosely.
I really like this. Of course, there are a million and one things that could be done with it sonically but it’s cool just as it is.
Is there something you’re trying to do with it but can’t?

Well, I have no right to offer much in the way of criticism, but FWIW:

1. There seems to be some extra time at the beginning of the track - you can edit it out with an audio editor like Goldwave (which you can try out for free, the demo is not crippled).

2. Also, I couldn’t download it yet, so all I could do was listen on my laptop, but it sounds really good on it. But - I’m telling everyone to go try bandcamp.com - you can set it up for free lossless downloads in FLAC format.
Much better for your listeners and critics to hear it in lossless format than an mp3.
:agree:

3. If this is your first shot at it, I’d hate to hear what you’re going to be doing in a year or 5.
:)
I know what good mixes sound like, although my mixes absolutely…suck…not to put too fine a point on it…and I know it…somehow, I don’t really have an ear…but you have all of the pieces sitting well together already.
Most importantly, you have the vocals up where they should be.
I, and everyone else I know, tend to bury the vox, especially when we were just starting on this stuff.
Is that you singing?
You have a great voice, too.

4. You know about tapeop?

Really, really nice recording. Post more!