Got Metal?

Would like to hear other N users metal…

Hello, I’m into metal and aggressive music in general. I’d be interested in hearing some metal tracks from other N-users. I have one track nearly completed that I’ll post myself. That is if anyone can tolerate the noise! :)

Thanks

Lets hear it!!! :) Although I haven’t listened to metal since my days of covering sabbath tunes :D

:)

I’ll post it ASAP. I need to re-record the guitars. They are super thin sounding right now. I’ve learned a ton since they were first recorded.

Here’s some of my stuff (pretty heavy), all done in Ntrack:

http://www.soundclick.com/thejamesdillonproject

JD

Awesome, I’m listening to “Flicker From The Chasm” right now. Unbelieveable. Very complex, I’m impressed. In the intro the guitar sounds “right there”. For some reason, my guitar tracks sound a little distant, and I don’t know why. Close mic’d, completely dry, recorded at stage volume, but I’m just a beginner, so…

Could you tell me about your setup at all?

Anyway, thanks for the reply, your material is real cool. Check out www.decapitado.com. They are local (Milwaukee), and I see hear some similarities to your music. If you like them, sign the book and tell them “Scott from FFD” sent you.

:D \m/

Hey Sweet, thanks for the kind words!

I use a Line6 POD XTL for all of my recording, that way I’m able to use different amp models, and go direct to get a really clean signal. Micing guitar cabs are an art in itself (which I know a LITTLE bit about, but not enough to get the ideal sound I’m looking for).

What is your setup like, maybe I can help a little.

JD

You’re welcome.

You are right about mic’ing cab’s. It’s an art that I haven’t come close to mastering :D I noticed a big difference just moving the mic 1/2" from the cone center.

My set up: ESP LTD EC-1000 > Shure Wireless > Boss Tuner > Boss Reverb > Boss Noise > 5150II head > Mashall 1960A 4X12 > SM57 > M-Audio Fast Trask USB Interface > n-Track