GRRRR

freaking virus crap

I know this should probably be in the other forum, but I believe this attracts more people no?

My son’s been playing on my computer (he’s 6) and has possibly downloaded a virus or something…

The problem is I CAN’T get rid of it. Now, I’m a A+ certified technician, but I don’t have a lot of practical experience, so I thought maybe someone with extensive computer knowledge might be able to help me out…

Here’s the deal, there are 4 .exe files in my c:/program files folder that are marked read-only, hidden, and encrypted. I’ve used Msconfig to turn them off and they don’t seem to start on bootup, but I can’t delete the little f-ers. XP in a workgroup apparently doesn’t automatically set the admin up as a data recovery agent, so even after creating a certificate and enabling myself as the recovery agent I can’t decrypt the files. I can’t delete them either because they’re marked as hidden and read only, and I can’t change the attributes because they’re encrypted…

I don’t know what they do, and i can’t find any reference to them online either. When my computer booted it just took a really long time, but nothing out of the ordinary has really happened except an occasional popup when searching with MSN Search.

they are labeled

hogqnj.exe
iA.exe
iJ.exe
WYuKn.exe

The “user” who installed them is QwdSBpaKcjGgLiowt and he installed a certificate good for 100 years.

As far as I can tell the ony way to remove it completely is to re-format, but I don’t want to do that. If I can’t delete it I’d like to know what they do at least.

My suggestion… boot to safe mode and hit TrendMicro. Their online scanner is quite excellent and has gotten me out of a lot of tight spots in the past.

Getting rid of junk like that can be very tough indeed. I had that kind of trouble twice - but with PC’s I set up for other people. I was hooking up to the internet via ADSL without using a firewall, and that is a no-no… - silly me. I learnt my lesson.