help with skips plz.

Skipping parts on music

What’s the cause of skips in the music during playback? And the dotted, up-and down-line (cursor, I guess) gets ahead of the wave during recording?

It only seems to happen more on longer recordings - typically greater than 3-4 minutes.

I’m guessing it’s buffer overruns. Did I guess right?

If that’s true, then I’m surprised, though because my buffering is set to 1024 samples. I have little experience though so that may be pretty low.

FIRST - what type of computer are you using, Laptop or PC ? - what make and speed is your processor ? - what soundcard are you using ? - what speed (RPM) is your hard drive ? - how many drives do you have ? - is DMA applied to hard drive/s ? - what version and build number of N are you using ? - what operating system are you using ?-

SECOND - how many tracks are you playing back ? -

REASON - laptops are usually slower in operating than PCs -

processor speed - the faster it is the more it can do without interupting audio playback

every soundcard has its own problems

minimum hard disk RPM for a DAW is thought to be 7000+ rpm ATA - 10000+ rpm SATA -

presuming you are using V5, then every build has some variation of the one before it, you may have a problen that using a different build number will rectify -

win 98se/ME/2000/XP home are OK, XP Media centre is not -

every track you playback add an extra load on the processor, every track is processed during playback even if there is no audio on the section of track - i.e 20 tracks on screen = 20 tracks sent to soundcard - if 10 of those tracks have gaps in the audio, the gaps are still processed and silence is sent to the soundcard -

two hard drives are better than one - (to long to explain here)