Help with Tuner?

Where is the darned thing?

Folks:
I’m a new user – just completed my first song this weekend! – and I’m still learning the amazing capabilities of this software.

In the meantime, though, one feature has me baffled. The manual refers to a tuner in the freq response page. I right-click on the response screen, and “Tuner” comes up as an option. But when I check that option, nothing happens. When I play my guitar, I don’t see any tuning information. :( I get a full, strong signal on the recording VU meters. Of course, I’m not sure what the N-Track tuner is supposed to look like, but I assumed I’d see some obvious lights or needles or something analogous to my stand-alone guitar tuner.

Thanks in advance for any help you can offer!

Pete “PapaRomeo” Rafle
Springfield, VA USA

Don’t you have to hit the “Live” button and have the input routed through the channel that the tuner is on?

I think you have to have “LIVE” processing enabled to use the tuner. Personally, I use the tuner built-in my Korg Pandora. Lots quicker than futzing with software. But if you ain’t got one… :)

Oh yeah… do a google for “free guitar tuner”? There are several freebies that run stand alone or as plugins. May be easier to use than n-Tracks built-in.

TG

EDIT** Tom beat me to the punch!

Thanks for the speedy replies, guys. This is clearly the place to come for quick answers!

I’ll try that tonight. I hadn’t messed with Live processing yet.

And, yes, I have a good external tuner, but I was hoping to avoid having to unplug, tune, and replug, and I’d prefer not to have it wired in all the time.

Thanks again!

PR

i find myself boucing around between audio apps so much during a session, i find it difficult to rely on opening an eq window in n-track to tune my instruments. might work better for you depending on how you’ve configured your n-track environment.