How is best way to do live recording?

Guitars, vocals, drums, mics

I have been experimenting for several years now, since n-2.2 with live recording of my own bands and some others.
I started with a single stereo mic. Results varied but were actually very good in some rooms. Panning gave me two seperate tracks.
Now I have a Delta 1010 for 8 tracks at once.
Most amps now have direct outs on them.
1.) Is the sound going to be as good as I could get with a close mic?
I know the direct is isolated, but can it get the box ambiance and all the actual sound?
2.) What is the best way to get the vocals and drums?
My delta 1010 has 8 in and 8 out. Should I run vocals / drums into computer and then out to the PA or record with a mic on the mains, or ???
3.) What about volume levels for the band / dynamics?
When recording musicians seem to think louder is better and things tend to get muttled. Some songs seem more prone to this.
The guys I work with are really great players but seem to be allergic to studio work and I am hoping to build a live CD to sell at our shows.
Any advice would be great and could save me lots of time.
Thanks…

Concerning 1, the only way to know if you like it is to try, but mostly I have not liked any direct outs from amps as much as a mic. Bass included. :)

Mike the guitar amplifier. If you have enough channels to also use the amp’s direct out, that can be handy. (But with only 8 channels, you won’t.)

For bass, sometimes you get a better sound going direct; other times it sounds better miking. (And as before, getting both gives you more flexibility later). It really depens on the sound the bass player wants. Some bass players don’t have a preference. When they don’t, going direct is a lot easier and gives you a crisper, deeper bass tone. But you don’t get the sound of the power amp and speaker.