Jumpy VU Meters

Hello-

I am brand new to mixing audio on computer. I have the latest version of NTrack running on a Dell 2.2GhZ Celeron with 1.0 GB of RAM.

I do all my recording on a standalone hard disk recorder, and then I dump the tracks onto my computer, using N-Track for mixing.

I am curious as to why the VU meters are very jumpy on playback. Rather than a smooth, up and down vertical movement of the green light, it is very choppy. So much so that you can’t really use the meters in any practical way. Also, the meters seem to be moving in advance of the audio. For example, on the first down beat of the song, you will see the meters jump up a split second before you hear the sound. It remains this way throughout the song’s playback.

Could this have something to do with the fact that I am using a stock soundcard and stock video card?

It’s obviously not a huge deal, but when I am looking at the meters on a compressor for example, I’d really like to know how much gain reduction I’m getting, and the meters, being as jerky as they are, makes it impossible to know with any kind of precision.

I should also mention that I also have the UAD-1 powered plugin card and I see the same problem on the meters in UAD-1 plugins.

Thanks!

The meters in n-Track (and your UAD-1) are of the peak variety - they are meant to be ‘jumpy’!

There are settings in n-Track (VU-meters anticipate output, range, responsiveness etc.) that may be altered to change the way they behave, but probably nothing like a ‘real’ VU-meter.

In that case, you may get a VST plugin to do the job - for instance PSP VintageMeter from PSP Audioware - strap it over your master channel in order to get proper readings…

regards, Nils

Hi guys, on this topic:
I’m playing with another meter utility that I saw and downloaded just last week… It’s a little more than just a meter utility, though…

Looking for the link… here

It looks like it’s gonna work very well with n-Track… I’m still looking at it’s potential…