KEL Audio HM-1

mics

Anyone tried one of these?
KEL Audio

They look interesting, and for the bread they seem like an alternative to a ribbon for less ‘brittleness’. I’m sure there’ll be differences!..but I’m still pretty new to all this, and it might be functional to stay cheep!

Woxnerw, didn’t you buy a matched pair?

I have a pair of HM-1’s… I have some photos posted of their inner-datails and all… The guy is over in Winnipeg, Manatoba…

He’s great to deal with… and down-to-earth…

The pair I ordered was as-close-to-a-Matched Pair as can be manufactuered by the builders. I have response graphs of the indivudal mics… I waited a couple of extra weeks for the ones I have… so, he do a Pick-of-the-Crop to select the ones I have… for me…

I haven’t done any amount of tracking with them yet but He has some files posted of what they sound like, on his page…

I’m waiting for a Nylon Strung Guitar Project/Session to use them to Track… with…

I would describe them as being on the “Dark” end of the spectrum… and that’s just great, with me… I’m thinking they could make great “Over-Head” mics for a Tub-Session… Gotta have mics in your closet… And… these are great…

The HM-1’s I have are shown on the page, I have, along with some other mics I have, in my collection…

Bill…

Yeah, they look interesting, and the reviews are too. And I’m also interested in leaving the ‘bright’ end of the spectrum- I don’t recall the whole world sounding like that! I have some 57’s and a ‘pair’ of Sennheiser MD431 dynamic “high-gain-before-feedback” performance type (they look like something Elvis would’ve used in Las Vegas!), but they’re not as detailed as condensers. I think I’m going to be after a pair of them KEL’s, soon’s I recover from the upgrade and soundcard I’ve just added.

That HM-4 looks kind of neat too. And I’d like a ribbon… but one grand thing at a time! (wantwantwantwantwant…)

What’s a ‘Tub-session’?

Hi Sloom: