kiss me once more

http://www.soundclick.com/player…ewref=1

this is a new song we wrote for the worldovision song contest thing were doing on the songwriters anonnymous website… or is it songsmiths they keep changing the flippin name
anyway i wanted to post it here
people have been critisizing our stuff on other forums saying theres not much bass so weve tried to up the bass but when we do it sounds boomy this has been a real compromise trying to up the bass guitar & the kick drum
any ideas?

Yes, well getting a tight bottom end is always a challenge - musically and otherwise… :slight_smile:

I’m no expert but I have found that careful use of EQ and, more significantly, multiband compression helps hugely. But you’ve got to have a good listening/monitoring environment.

Hi bright lights tonight:

Thanks for posting up the link to your latest creation…
Nice and energetic…

The mix is great … However, I need to listen to the song at something better than 90 - 92 db SPL…
Good listening level for that style/flavor of music…
:agree:
:agree:

Bill…

Cracker. Bass sounds solid and perfect (to me, anyway) straight out of my desk on a pair of bog standard Beyerdynamic dt100’s. Checked the mix against Sleeper and Garbage.

Tina, the song sounds perfect to me, too, the bass isn’t boomy at all. I’ve always heard the best way to test a song is listen to it in the average environment others would hear it in, such as your car stereo. If it’s bad there, it’s likely to bad everywhere. Reference monitors are nice, and give perfect reproduction, problem is: nobody has those except audiophiles and recording techs, lol, your audience has probably never even heard of them!

:)

Danny

Hey, this is awesome. such a fun song :;): really enjiyed it. I’m only listening through crappy speakers but it sounds spot on to me, as ‘dannyraymilligan’ said “the best way to test a song is listen to it in the average environment others would hear it in” and it’s coming up trumps :agree: