Lagging Overdubs

Trying to do a harmony track

I’ve been engineering for about ten years in the analog world so I am well familiarized with the “ins and outs” of signal flow. My problem is with this computer and/or this software. I just got the software registered and i’m recording my first tune. First Track and various flub edits went great. Now I’m trying to do a harmony line overdub over a 12 second noodley solo bit on a second track. The bit happens 3 times over a four miniute song. I get my headphone mix right for overdubs, get my new track record ready and play perfectly in time. Upon playback I notice that the overdub comes in at exactly the right time. As it goes on the sync becomes slowly more and more out of wak. The overdub becomes more and more delayed from the original track. Whats funny is that they start at the same time. It is as if the overdub has been recorded at a different f.p.s. than the original track. In a four miniute the delay can be about 1 second by the end. I tried doing some settings tinkering that I found in the forum but nothing seems to have fixed the problem totally. Please help?

What soundcard are you using?
If using an SB Live, it sounds like it could be the 48Khz issue… Make sure you have your sample rate set to 48Khz as that is what the SBLive works at internally and any other sample rate it has to resample on the fly which can cause drift in sync.

Also make sure you have your soundcard clock (timer) set in the preferences (not the system timer).

Ummm that’s all I can think of at the moment…

Rich

Quote (RichLum @ June 27 2006,02:27)
Also make sure you have your soundcard clock (timer) set in the preferences (not the system timer).

Just to clarify Richlums point, untick both the system timer boxes under prefs/settings/options.