Loss of WAV files with freeze

Freeze, unfreeze, get wrong file back …

I’m fairly new to this app, so may be finger trouble, but I don’t think so.

I’m finding that WAV files can be not found on app reopening, especially after a freeze.

Typical example is this:
- record a track (A), get it sorted with various effects etc
- to save CPU load, freeze it
- record various other tracks (B, C, …)
- go back to and unfreeze A - wrong WAV file now! it is probably now using the same WAV file as - say - B
- original WAV file not to be found at all - only have the freeze file left for track A

I am always very careful to (1) keep a song in a folder of its own with nothing else, (2) not touch the files manually myself, (3) save the song before exiting / closing n-Track - so I don’t see what I’m doing wrong.

It also happens in various other circumstances, especially after multiple takes, but the above is a specific example. It generally seems poor at keeping track of which files go with which tracks.

Is this just me, or do others see this type of problem?

It’s not you. This was a common problem when I used n-Track back at V5. Apparently it’s never been fixed. Big shocker there… :disagree:

UJ

Check to see if you are using the Non-Destructive editing. I Never use Destructive editing as it changes the original wav ( or other sound file formats)on the disk. I am pretty sure Freezing can be done as a not-destructive (It should be Non-Destructive), but I am not certain as I am not at my “music” computer.
You might record a “junk” file and check to see if N_Track is changing the wav file when you freeze in Non_Destruct mode. IF it does, that would be a bug for sure. If you run the experiment, let us know the results.
Bax

Yup.

I’ve used freeze in none-destructive and destructive without issue. I prefer to do a sub-mix or five and it’s easyer to file.

Quote: (bax3 @ Jan. 07 2011, 11:18 AM)

Check to see if you are using the Non-Destructive editing.