Merging wav Files

Merging wav files

Hello,

Is there a way to merge (or ‘glue’) wav files together? i.e. merging 8 one bar measures together so that they can be treated as one unit (a verse). Then that can be moved or copied as required. I am a newbie and may be overlooking something obvious, but can’t seem to find anything about this (if it is possible at all).

Thanks for any help

you can mixdown one track and replace the original track with the new version. this would accomplish your goal.

Are you wanting “looping”? That is what it sounds like, basically. Sadly, there is no hard and fast way to edit this way in n. What you need to do is to take the file and trim to the right length to loop. Then clone the track 8 times. Using the crossarrow pointer, move the different wav blocks into position. Then mixdown that section as a new file. For every new section, you will need to have a new track. Otherwise, the mixdown will contain the entire song again. Even still, there is a lot of pain in operating this way. What exactly are you trying to go? Loop a drum sample? or what? How was this original track created? Can you not simply use the same method to make the entire song at once? Why do you need to use a measure long sample? It seems more pain than it is worth to me. Just curious. Also, you could probobly use hotstepper as a looper (given you could load that long of a sample. I think you can). That would work a lot easier than n, I would think…

fish

Go to "Edit -> Non destructive -> Merge parts"

Do what you want it to?

:cool:

Chuck, that only works if the parts are adjacent in the same file to begin with. In other words, you use that to remove a splice point you’d put in earlier.

Mixdown is the only way with N. You can select multiple parts and move them together, though. You just have to do that manually each time.

I think what you’re asking for is the equivalent of “Group” in drawing programs. Frankly, that would be a useful tool!