MIDI questions

timing out & how to sync MIDI to audio

Hi n-track forum. I’m new to PC multi-tracking and have a couple of questions I’m hoping someone can help me with. I’m trying to get a basic set-up working before I splash out on the (very reasonable) registration.

1. Before I hook up my other MIDI gear to the PC (no cable yet!) I am trying out the MIDI functions of n-track using the built-in Soundblaster card. Only trouble is it plays totally out of time, and with the notes all broken up. Could this be particular to the sound card, or will it be OK when I use the Soundblaster to control an external sound module by MIDI? I have tried changing the buffer settings and the ‘keep devices open’ control as suggested on this board, but no luck.

2. I have a song previously recorded as wav tracks (no MIDI), to which I would like to add quantized MIDI recording (as I’m too useless to play my keyboard in time). The song is based on an analogue recording of a drum machine, so the timing should be consistent. How should I set up n-track so it does the quantizing correctly? I can experiment with the BPM, but I don’t know where to adjust the offset. Or is there an easier way of doing this?

Thanks

<!–QuoteBegin>

2. I have a song previously recorded as wav tracks (no MIDI), to which I would like to add quantized MIDI recording (as I’m too useless to play my keyboard in time). The song is based on an analogue recording of a drum machine, so the timing should be consistent. How should I set up n-track so it does the quantizing correctly? I can experiment with the BPM, but I don’t know where to adjust the offset. Or is there an easier way of doing this?

OK. I suggest you import the tracks, line up the drum track on the grid, and set the offset of the other tracks to the same as the drum track…

I don’t know how much you know about N-track so the following may be too much or too little.

In more detail…

1. Import the wav tracks into N-track - including the drum track.