MIDI Sync issues?

OK, I’m just getting into the MIDI keyboard game, and I’m running into an aggravating issue in synching up MIDI input with existing tracks.

I have an Evolution 49-key midi controller hooked up through a MidiSport USB interface.

If I play an existing recording, and play along with my keyboard (using the GM piano sound), I can hear it fine, and the input is recorded to a new midi track in N.

But when I play it back, the MIDI track lags way behind the other tracks.

I tried just playing along with an N-track Drums rhythm, and while I was playing it, I was in pretty solid synch with the drum track. But on playback, there’s a significant delay to the keyboard track. And although I haven’t looked closely enough to confirm it, it seems like the MIDI gets further and further out of sync the farther into the track it goes (it seems to get worse with elapsed time).

What’s going on? I’ve tried various combinations of WDM, ASIO, etc. for recording and playback, but the same thing happens every time.

My hardware specs are listed below, in case it matters…

Thanks in advance for your help.

PR

• Intel Pentium IV 2.4gHz
  • Retail Heatsink
  • Abit IS-7 Motherboard
  • 1GB PC3200 DDR 400 RAM CAS 2.5 (Corsair)
  • 80gb Seagate Barracuda HD @ 7200rpm
  • ATI Radeon 9500 Pro 128mb
  • Soundblaster Live! 5.1, Live!DriveII
  • LinkSys Wireless Ethernet PCI Card
  • LiteOn CD-RW
  • LiteOn DVD-ROM 16x

• Logitech Optical Mouse
  • Samsung SyncMaster 930b LCD (19")
  • Windows XP Home SP2
  • DirectX 9.0c

What’s you selected MIDI Ouput Device?

"Microsoft GS Wavetable Synth"

That’s my problem, isn’t it?

PR