Mixer VU meter delay

All,

Wondered if this was just me. I’ve noticed that I have quite a delay between the VUs on the mixer channels and the output mix. It’s much more noticable on drum tracks given the impulsive nature of the sound.

Clearly, this isn’t a huge problem as what nTrack brings to the table more than makes up for it, I just wondered if others had noticed this.

As supplemental info, I have a 3 GHz machine running windows XP Home and an nVidia sound card (nothing special, but hasn’t been a problem before). I currently have it mapped through the Windows sound interface I’ll try with the ASIO4All driver and perhaps the M-audio board I have.

Anyway, thanks for any feedback people have.

Trefor

Have you checked the “VU meter Anticipates Output”-setting in Preferences? The way the VU meter reacts may also be customised - right-click on the VU meter bridge and try out the possibilities…

regards, Nils

Nils,

Thanks. I’m pretty new to nTrack (having been a heavy duty Kristal user before).

I haven’t checked that setting (didn’t know it existed), but will do this evening.

Regard,

Trefor

Hi tdelve:
I have opened this in a topic some time ago. learjeff an I have mulled over this and we have come to the conclusion that this may be the visible reminents of “System Latency”… I can’t remember how IT came into one of the Topics-of-Discussion, but if Jeff replies he may be able to give you an idea as to how to reduce IT.

IT’s like… The Meters react “Out-of-Phase” with the “Track” content and material…

In earlier builds, before v4.2.0 there was a box to check in the settings/preferences that you could get the meters to antisipate the program material… But I don’t see IT in these v4.2.0 builds…

Bill…