multi-track recording - is this idea feasible?

Hello all – I’m a newbie (apologies up front ;.) and am wondering if the following can be done.

I have a 5 piece band and would like to use NTrack and our mixing board to create 6-track recordings (vocals, drums, bass, Guitar1, Guitar2, keyboards).

First, I would buy a soundcard with 2 analog inputs (e-mu or m-audio – advice appreciated!)
- vocals: mixing board aux1 bus to the left side of analog input 1
- drums: mixing board aux2 bus to the right side of analog input 1
- bass and keyboards are sent from their individual mixing board channels to the left and right side of the 2nd analog input respectively
- both guitarists use a Line6 POD XT which has a USB out

So, that’s recording 6 simultaneous tracks (4 analog tracks through the 2 inputs of the sound card and 2 seperate digital tracks through USB).

Is this feasible? Is there a better way?
What issues should I expect to face?

Thanks in advance!

You are thinking along the right lines. Only problem is you will have heck of a time trying to get the POD’s audio stream and the stream from your soundcard to stay synchronized and thats IF you get all the I/O drivers to live happily together. Your USB stream (guitars) and the stream from your sound card will most likely drift. This will make your guitars lead or lag the other tracks and it will get worse with longer songs.

Since you already have a Mixer, what about an M-Audio Delta 1010LT. They can be had for about $250 new and much less via EvilBay. That card will give you 8 analog inputs and 1 stereo SPDIF digital input. Use the analog ins for your mixing console and pipe one of your POD’s through the SPDIF. I think PODs have a SPDIF out…right?

Anyway, one Delta driver to run, n-Track, a little cabling + your mixer and bingo! 8 analog tracks and 1 stereo POD track simultaneous recording.

See you at the Grammy’s… :)

TG

PS Welcome to the forum dude. (or dudette?)