My first song

I am a newbie, please be gentle

i just finished my first attempt at recording and mixing a proper song myself. The vocals and acoustic guitar were recorded with a behringher c1 so I dont expect bono to come knockin om my door just yet hehe. Im a guitar player myself so this is also my first attempt at using midi vsti, it took me weeks to work out how to get it all working.

I will re record parts of this song again in a few weeks after Ive given my ears a rest.

I think the backing vocals are out of tune, prob because I was wasted from singing the lead vocal 4 - 5 times that morning.

I mistakenly left the low cut switched on the desk whilst recording the bass…arrrrhhhhhhh

I want to try the acoustic guitar with a better mic and heavier gauge strings

I think the intro is missing something

I really didnt want to put the scratching fx at the begining but It was the only way I could think to hide the click track bleeding from my headphones on the acoustic guitar track.

I had something like 10 tracks on this song, I’m more used to 2 - 3 so it took my about a week to get this far with the mix. Im gona save my money and get a better mic, oh boy have I been bitten ny the bug.

Song is called LADY (demo) :whistle:

http://www.myspace.com/alanburnsonline

For the first on n-Track you’re doing awesome!

Like your style a lot once the tune settled in. :agree:

All I would change is the album needle noise from 45 rpm to 33 1/3
:whistle:

Quote:

All I would change is the album needle noise from 45 rpm to 33 1/3

http://www.izotope.com/products/audio/vinyl/

Yes, good first n-track recording.
How long did you take for your first outing?
I’m still working on my first two recordings (hardly songs), but I am learning a lot about digital recording from n-track, and the sharp people on this forum.

Hi Alan. Very good first effort. You’ve got the talent, the rest is just using the tools to bring it out, and that will get better and better.
Good luck!