My First Submission

Hi all,
This is my first time posting to this forum.
My band recently recorded a four-song CD using n-Track and I am looking for feedback.

The song is called “Starfish on Her Mind” and can be found at:
http://www.mypocketzoo.com/sounds.html

Thanks for listening!

Very nice!

I’m particularly impressed with the way you’ve captured the vocals. The lead is strong with lots of personality, and the background vocals are nice and lush.

The drum and bass are tight with plenty of drive. The song is also very polished with lots of interesting sounds and fun stuff going on.

As far as constructive criticism goes, on my speakers things sound a little bright on the high end, and occasionally the bottom end lacks ‘punch’. When the pizzicato strings kicked in, I thought ‘soundfont!’ Perhaps they need a little more ‘air’, or a bit more pan.

All in all though, great job!
Jon

:) - Now you need to reveal your secrets: equipment? recording environment?

Quote (JonM @ Oct. 26 2004,15:28)
Very nice!

I'm particularly impressed with the way you've captured the vocals. The lead is strong with lots of personality, and the background vocals are nice and lush.

The drum and bass are tight with plenty of drive. The song is also very polished with lots of interesting sounds and fun stuff going on.

As far as constructive criticism goes, on my speakers things sound a little bright on the high end, and occasionally the bottom end lacks 'punch'. When the pizzicato strings kicked in, I thought 'soundfont!' Perhaps they need a little more 'air', or a bit more pan.

All in all though, great job!
Jon

:) - Now you need to reveal your secrets: equipment? recording environment?

Thanks for the kind words.