My n-track stutters

n-tack’s not showing my driver

This is my first post here; I hope you can help me.

Here’s the deal, I’ve been using n-track for several months now and have gotten into mixing multiple channels. When I’m working with EQ and effects and volume pans my computer will stutter, the time line moves in a stop and go fashion and my tracks that I’m recording at the time will be out of sync at the point after the stutter happened. I posted on the Collaboration Central forums and was pointed towards resetting my virtual memory and looking into what drivers I was using. I was told to avoid the MME drivers. Sure enough, I am set up using MME drivers.

After a long search on the net, I found an Asio driver that was for my card (SB Live 5.1 Platinum) and would operate in Windows ’98 SE. I downloaded the kxdrv3536-full.exe and ran the install program. Buy default it installed to C:\Program Files\Kx project.

My problem is that I don’t know how to get that to n-track, I read the help and thought that I should go to Preference > Paths > External Wave Editor, and Browse to the Kx File. I did that and I don’t show a new driver in the Audio Device > WAVE device box. My Advanced boxes are checked to show MME, WDM and Asio drivers. Now I’m wondering if the driver needs to be pointed to the soundcard instead, but I have no idea how to do that either.

As it stands now:
I have set my virtual memory to 16MB, Min and Max.
I and have downloaded and installed n-track 4.0.3.
The Sampling frequency is set at 48000 Hz, as required by my SB card.
The Wave device is set to MME: Wave Mapper. (I could set it to MME: SB Live Wave In/Out [D400]).
The “show” MME, MWD and Asio boxes are checked.
Multichannel are both set to 16.
“Keep audio devises open” is checked.
Buffering is set to default “High”
The “Use System Timer” boxes are now both unchecked.
The “Program Priority”, I have set it to High.
I checked out Double Dawg, for any bus issues, but it won’t run on ’98 SE.