N-Drums and MIDI

Can I control drum patterns with MIDI?

OK, I know it’s probably too soon too hope for anyone to have sorted this out, but I’m gonna ask anyway.

Since the N-Drums plug-in is a VSTi, does MIDI hold the key to making it play a whole song’s worth of drums, as opposed to a single repeating pattern?

From what I can tell, each “Style” contains 20 or so patterns (designated by letters), each of which consists of up to 8 “pages” (each page is a measure of music). The missing link is how to switch from one pattern (letter) to another. One of the other threads mentioned that you can make this switch with MIDI.

Does this mean I could somehow use the MIDI piano roll to set up an arrangement that would trigger changes from one pattern to another?

Since I have never used a MIDI instrument in N before, I don’t even know where to start! Can someone at least point me in the direction of the steps I would use to test whether I’m on the right track (so to speak)?

Thanks in advance,
PR

Hi PapaRomeo.

I am in the process of testing the cool new n-Track drums out myself, and will report my findings as I go along…

AFAIK, the drums may be played via midi (assuming you have some kind of midi keyboard connected to the computer)

Until then, I assume that the n-Track Drum VSTi may be used just like any other drum VSTi as long as you don’t load a rhythm preset into it (NB! For now, this is just guesswork!)

If it beaves like an ‘ordinary’ VSTi, the procedure is as follows:

1) In the menu, select Track - Midi - New Instrument Channel - VST - n-Track Drums. This adds a mixer channel for holding the VSTi. As a default, n-Track Drums puts the host (n-Track) in ‘Live’ mode.

2) Add a blank midi track. right-click the track, and select Output To - n-Track Drums. Now hitting some keys on the midi keyboard should result in some drum sounds. Maybe a rhythm bank needs to be loaded into the n-Track drums plugin first. Arm the track.