N-Track Drums - setting volume levels w/ MIDI

I read the “N-Track Drums Intervention” thread and can relate to how hard NTD is to figure out. I am new to MIDI as well and am trying to use NTD to lay down a drum track to record bass and guitar on. I came across an old post by Theinfamousfish who gave beginning tips on how to do this (bottom).
Following his advice, I created a MIDI track (track 10 for drums), and changed the output to N-Track Drums. This worked - everything great so far. I can now use the MIDI editor to graph where and what drum beats are hit, and N-Track plays back the sound using N-Track Drums.

The part I can’t figure out is how to change the individual characteristics of the drum beats that are being played back by N-Track. Basically my snare is way too loud and drowns out the bass drum, so I want to adjust the volume of the snare. Where do I do this? In the MIDI editor, or do I have to go into N-Track Drums and edit it there. If settings must be changed in NTD, that brings up a second question - which NTD kit is being used as the default one for the drum sounds that are now being played by N-Track?

The only way I know how to open NTD is “Track -> MIDI -> Insert new midi Instrument > N-Drums” (does this insert a second N-Track drum track on top of the MIDI one)? Once I’m in there, my NTD automatically opens the Acoustic Acoustic (Lt) kit. Does this mean it is the default one that N-Track is using? I click on the “E” button on each instrument and can adjust the volume, velocity, decay. Great! Now how do I save my settings? As soon as I close down N-Track my changes are gone and Acoustic Acoustic (Lt) is back to default levels.