n-Track Newbie

Hi everybody,

I’m old to the world but new to n-Track so expect a lot of stoopid questions;-) I just bought/registered/installed it last night and am doing my best to read the manual (I hate reading manuals!) I’ve had some limited experience with Cubase and FL Studio but both were a bit of overkill for what I am looking for. Heard some good things about n-track so I thought I’d give it a whirl.

Stoopid Question #1: I haven’t come across any mention of how to use a USB MIDI controller keyboard in n-Track. All I found so far were references to a MIDI keyboard being plugged into the joystick/game port of the sound card. Is it possible to use a USB controller to run VST synths in n-Track?

Welcome to the forum Ed :slight_smile:

It’s possible, and likely someone here might use the same brand. Whatcha got?

The USB controllers install a driver package that should appear as “ports” when you look in Preferences in n-Track. Make sure your KB USB drivers are installed properly and check the MIDI Device settings in Preferences.

NOTE: Some USB devices use a Windows built-in driver. It should still appear in MIDI Devices though.

As Poppa said… “Whatcha’ got?” :)

D

Its an M Audio Keystation somethingorother (I’m at work right now & can’t remember exactly :)

If it’s a Keystation ## or Keystation ##es, you have to install a driver. You can get the latest at M-Audio’s website.

D

Regarding the keyboard problem; I haven’t had time to check out the advice you guys gave me (renovating a basement, life, etc.) but will definitely give it a try.