Need to record 4 tracks at once

Without breaking the bank

Greetings. I’ve been recording through a M-Audio duo for 5 years.
Two channels has sufficed until now.

I’m in a duo now and we want to recrod a CD. I need the abilty to record 4 channels simultanmeously, into 4 seperate tracks on n-track.

Can you recommend a reasonably digital interface?
I have USB 2.o, but I’m not opposed to getting a firewire or PCI card if I have to.

Thanks!
David
www.davidberchtold.com

Well shoot, I can’t edit my post now.

Actually, what I really need is to know how to tell how many tracks the D-A interface will record at once.
If it says 10 in / 4 out, does that mean that you can plug 10 things in and it will record four seperate tracks on n-track? I assume you can choose which of the 4 outputs each intput wll go to…

It’s confusing to me becuase I’ll see a picture of something with two channesl (two inputs each capable of 1/4 and XLR) and it will say “4 in” - doesnt’ make sense. Theres no way you could plug 4 things in at once…

Like I said, I managed to learn how to record two channels from my M-Audio Duo.
Beyond that, I"m pretty much starting over. There is so much stuff out there, and I’m not sure what most of it is capable of.
Lots of new terminology, etc.

Thanks,
David
www.davidberchtold.com

Hey

I have the Delta 1010LT and it works great. It has 8 inputs that can be used simultaneously (4 more than you need) and the other 2 are digital - I don’t know if they can be used at the same time as the analog or not…

Anyway, it’s only a couple hundred bucks, so you can’t beat the price.

Usually when they advertise 10 in/4 out, it means 8 analog in, 2 digital in, etc. You really have to look at the specifications for each unit.

I use the M-audio Firewire interface and it records several inputs at once.

I bought it for $75 on ebay.

I would be interested in hearing what type of options the duo gives you in it’s window?