New User -- Volume Problem

Hardware change suggestions welcome, too

Hey guys,

I manage a local band and we recently made the decision to start making our own music recordings. After playing with the trial version of n-track for a while, we decided to purchase it a few days ago. I am still learning to use the program and I have come a long way, but I have 1 issue that I need some advice on. When we record, I adjust the input levels so that we get a good level without clipping. According to the vumeter our volumes can be peaking as we record. And when we play back–either in the program, or mixed down into a single file and played in WMP or on a cd in a cd player–the volume is very low. The playback vumeter also shows that the sound is peaking so adjusting the volume sliders only seems to distort the sound.

As an example, with a standard music cd playing in my car keeping the volume on 12 is usually a good, moderately loud setting. When I play a song that we have recorded with n-track, I have to turn the volume up to around 18-20 to reach the same level as a professionally recorded cd.

Here is a quick rundown of our setup:

We have our guitar and bass amps, drum microphones, and voice mics running into a Yamaha EMX300 mixer. It’s old but it works well and it was given to us for free lol. We are running output from the mixer via 1/4in. jack to the DiamondMM Extreme Sound 7.1 24-bit soundcard in my computer using a 1/4in.–1/8in. jack adapter. We adjust the levels on the mixer to give a good strong signal to the copmuter being careful to avoid clipping, then fine tune the volume levels when mixing in n-tack. We record each instrument individually on separate tracks.

Any advice for us beginners is extremely welcome in regards to our volume issue and our hardware setup. We are learning as we go and went into this pretty blind lol.