Newbie here, hoping someone here can help

I can record/playback just fine via my soundcard, but I can only record via the USB ports.

Under advice from a few different magazine articles, I bought a ART USB Dual Pre so that I can make cleaner/clearer recordings, so…can anyone dummy it down for me as to how this is accomplished via the USB port?

I think I may have mentioned that I’m a newbie with a Capital N! :)

http://www.head-fi.org/t/258551/how-does-usb-audio-transfer-work

plug it in,

it should show up in “soundcard settings” as a card, select it,

press record, see what happens.

you should get two mono or stereo tracks.

Quote: (dontcare @ Apr. 16 2013, 8:38 AM)

plug it in,

it should show up in "soundcard settings" as a card, select it,

press record, see what happens.

you should get two mono or stereo tracks.

Thanks, that was exactly the info I needed! :D

Apparently I spoke too soon…just got through buying the program and followed above directions, but getting nothing. Obviously, I’ve done something wrong…

Going to Settings -> recording format -> ? (soundcard format? 32 float?, Enable Live input processing?)

playback format ->? (32 float?, apply setting to all channels?)

Can’t figure out what I did to make it work previously… :angry:

Thanks in advance for anyone who points me in the right direction (I’m so-o-o-o-o clueless!)

Hi, Terry. Can you see the ART on the list in Audio devices?

Quote: (TonyR @ Apr. 20 2013, 3:53 AM)

I went to Settings -> Devices -> found 3 choices, each, for input and output:

(Audio Playback Devices)
MME: Realtek HD Audio rear output
MME: Windows Default Playback Device
WDM-Realtek HD Audio rear output

(Audio Recording Devices)
MME: Line In/Mic In
MME: Windows Default Recording Device
WDM - Line In/Mic In

Nothing that specifically says ART.

Have you looked in n-Track menu Settings > Audio?

Quote: (bax3 @ Apr. 20 2013, 9:29 AM)

Have you looked in n-Track
menu
Settings > Audio?