NEWBIE Needs Help

HELP ON DRUMS

Hi folks

Just purchased ntrack after months of looking at the site and wondering which type of package to buy to set up home pc based system.

On a limited budget I have now got most of my initial instruments/hardware in place (Fender Strat 77, Martin D12, various other guitars, Shure SM57s, Roland JV1010 and PC180A etc…)

However, I need help on how I should go about recording decent drum sounds. I have no experience with midi but am a reasonable musician with relatively reasonable intelligence depending on time of day…

I have been checking out the links with Jamstix and wonder if this would be suitable for a newbie, or would I be better off purchasing something more basic to begin with and going on from there???

Please help, and useful comments appreciated.

I have heard good things about Jamstix.
But I’ve never tried it. ( I have a real kit now…tee hee)
Anyway alot of people around here and elswhere us fruityloops. I’ve used it early on, and with no knowledge of computers, or software, found it easy to understand.
I also tried one called hammer or hammertime, pretty simple as well.
good luck

jerm

There’s always a drum machine…

Of course, according to bumper stickers I’ve seen in L.A. :

Drum Machines have no soul

There are many drum software programs out there. All of the ones that use .wav samples sound the same, it just a matter of finding the one that is easiest for you to use.

I like these three, so far:

LeafDrums - It’s simple to write patterns on, but somewhat awkward to sequence. It can save each instrument to an individual file, which can then be imported to a seperate track in n-Track. Shareware, but you can use after the time runs out if you have no conscience.

Drumsite - A little complicated, but programs just like an old drum machine, somewhat. It also can import drum tracks from a midi file, (pretty cool). Limited demo.