Newbie Question

Hardware needed?

Total newb here, just getting started, what do I need to run my elec guitar/bass through to access to pc itself?
And do I need a special soundcard?
Thanks for any help, much appriciated.

Welcome jbphburg,

No, you shouldn’t need any special hardware to record your guitar/bass. Although you may want it after a while. :D

Basically all you need to do is take the signal of your guitar, boost it a tad and stuff it into the line-in of your computers sound card, and n-track will record it for you.

For the boosting section, you’ll need to up the signal strength to line level, this can be done with a mixing board, or an amplifier if it has a line level output (don’t EVER put a speaker level signal to your line-in jack!). Various guitar effect processors will also work (i.e. Line6 Pod/ Behringer Vamp, etc…).

Once you have that connected set you levels in ntrack and go to town (as they say…).

Enjoy…

.-=gp=-.

hey jb, and welcome to N.

Since you’re just getting started, you might find AudioMinds helpful. Once you have a basic idea of what’s involved, come on back, and we’ll help you get started.

teej

Chutz nailed it, but didn’t mention that many stomp boxes or FX racks are just the ticket as a preamp for guitar or bass.

Some stomp-boxes are “always on” in that they always amplify the signal. Others, like MXR DynaComp, take themselves totally out of the loop when you turn off the effect. The former will work with the effect off. The latter will work if you don’t mind the effect. If you have a noise gate, use that.

Note that the guitar won’t sound very good unless you have some guitar amp/cabinet modeling software. If you don’t there are a couple free plugins that aren’t great but can get you going the right direction.