Music Recording Help

Ok…so here’s the deal. I am a musician: singer, play piano, write music. I want to start recording my own stuff. I once recorded one of my songs with this guy who had a whole little recording studio and that is what I am after…but I don’t even know where to begin!

What software should I use? I am not very computer savvy…I need something that will allow me to convert what I play on piano to sound as if it were other instruments. What mics are best? What keyboard should I purchase? Please help if you can with suggestions.

Thank you so much! :)

I’d suggest you do some research. If you’re at all computer comfortable, that’s the way to go. As a start check out:

Hom recording. com

Also:

Audiominds

All of us here are obviously using n-track and like it. Sounds like you want to also do MIDI.

Before you go dumping a lot of hard-earned cash, get a beginners book.

Here’s a good one:

Home Recording

<!–QuoteBegin>

What software should I use? I am not very computer savvy…I need something that will allow me to convert what I play on piano to sound as if it were other instruments.

Well, n-track is a good start. :)

As for a keyboard, you need something that has a Midi output. That way instead of the audio being recorded, what you actually record is the “score”, (in a manner of speaking).

Then that “score” can be played by any “instrument”.

As for mics, if you get a dozen responses, you’ll get two dozen different answers. :D

But depends what you want to record. Dynamics are reliable, robust and idiot proof, and the Shure SM57/58 are ubiquitous.

Condensers tend to be less robust, but are more open and airy, and are favoured for many instruments and voices.

Ribbons have a beautiful sound, and are hellish expensive, and if you look at them the wrong way, they explode! :D

But as I said, it all depends.