No Sound!

Output thru headphones

I am brand new to n-Track 6. I am getting visual presentation of input of guitar thru snakelight cord but no sound out or presentation of sound out on meters.

Have you tried the monitor LIVE button?I’m on my phone or I would go into more detail.
Someone should help you out soon. Hang in there.

Thanks for responding- Yes, I did push the live button and pushed record also. I can put an MP3 file in as a track and can hear that perfectly but not the live playing of the guitar.

Try checking the output of the track and your soundcard settings. Tell us more about your system - I find folks with similar systems tend to help more.

Hi Problems like this usually revolve round the windows sound mixers, there are two of these one for play back and one for record. In the record mixer you need to have selected the input you are trying to record.

See this
http://www.cakewalk.com/support/Lessons/WindowsMixer.asp
Nick

Thanks Nick… I read the cakewalk directions and it helped. I also did some more experimentation, carefully resetting the input and output sources, and actually got sound out! Now, the problem is LATENCY!! Wow, is there ever a time lag between a note played and a note heard… So bad that it is absolutely un-playable! Any helpful ideas?

The live button.

Where are you monitoring the signal? Does the Snakelight cable allow direct monitoring of the signal or do you have to listen through the PC’s built-in sound card? If it’s the latter, you are going to have a tough time of it. This is because you are dealing with two different devices. The Snakelight conversion delay to the computer via “legacy” USB driver which is NOT optimized for audio AND the software delay of n-Track AND the delay of the soundcards processing.

If you give us a little more information, we might be able to better help out. PC spec’s, your exact signal path, driver settings in n-Track etc…

D

OK I give up - what is a Snakelight cable ?