No sound while recording

No sound while recording

Hello,
I am a newbie to home recording. I would really appreciate anybody’s help with my problem.

I am not hearing any sound during recording. But whatever comes inside the ntrack gets recorded, because I can hear them by playback. Is this it how works? I am sure I am missing something.

I confirmed my soundmax card is duplex, which can playback and record simultaneously.

Please help.

Check the Windows Mixer/Volume control-make sure that the Master Mixer slider and the Wave slider are not muted

In Windows Control panel check Sounds and Multimedia devices->Audio tab->Make sure that your Playback, Recording, MIDI devices are all the correct ones

Check ntrack settings under File->Settings->Preferences->Audio Devices->make sure that the right device is called out there for playback

If you have a real world mixer you’re using check all those buttons etc

Thanks for the response Doug !!

I have done all that you’ve said. Still having the issue.

In Windows, none of the recording source or playback source are muted.

In ntrack, I have selected my soundmax as the device.

Not sure, if this could be the reason. In my windows Audio/Recording properties, the “Advanced” setting button is disabled. Is there a setting in there that says “play while record” kinda thing?

sat,

Here are some other things you can try:

You need the Advanced tab to set Hardware acceleration to Full and pick the type of speaker system you have.

Check for latest version of drivers for your sound card-Update those.

Check in the Control Panel->System->Hardware Tab->Device Manager button->Sound Video and game controllers-see if there are any yellow exclamation points

Check which version of DirectX you are running
Start->Run->Type DXDIAG

You should have at least DirectX 8. With Windows 98SE and above, Ver. 9C I believe, is the latest you can download from Microsoft.

No good yet Doug !!

My DirectX version is 9b, I updated with 9c.