OT: ACID users: when is a loop not a loop?

…that is the question

I see there are several fellow Acid users on the forum (…err the software, of course…).

I recently bought Acid Pro v3 to investigate the whole looping thing, being an Ntrack user of about 4 years. Wow! Lovely bit of software - perfect compliment to N-track.

Anyway, whilst most of the time it works great, with a couple of loops I am getting weird stuff happening. Like I’ll click on a loop in the little preview pane i na project, and it will display the properties wrong -like “512bpm” when the loop is nothing insane like that. Also, the loop then plays back weird if I try and use it. This is with loops from a pro CD collection, by the way.

I understand that for Acid to use a loop, there is additional info encoded somehow in the .wav file (bpm, key etc).
How is this done?
Can you edit it?
So how do you make your own loops if Acid needs thsi stuff?
ta.

Eyup!

I’m not a loop expert, but it sounds to me as if the loops you mention are probably recorded in high resolution and maybe require converting to 44khz 16bit before Acid can use them.
Just a thought.

Steve

I’m an Acid user who is brand new to nTrack :D

The loops can be (but don’t need to be) acidized to work seemlessly in Acid. 3.0Pro (which is what I have) should have come with Sound Forge XP which can be used to set these properties if you know the BPM etc. There may be other way’s to set them via some tool or something but you can either acidize them with Sound Forge or just set the BPM once you add the track to the song.

You can make your own loops a number of ways but the easiest is with Sound Forge (XP version should be good enough), that has all the WAV editing tools and the ACID property settings all built in.

I’m interested in why you think they go together. I’ve had ACID for years and can work it quite well, at this point I’m not seeing what nTrack offers that is “extra”.

Tony

Quote (tonyoci @ Sep. 06 2005,10:30)