OT: Bandmate thinks bass is unnecessary in a band

Hi all,

I’ve not posted in ages, but I have a problem and needed some opinions. It’s a bit off-topic, sorry.

Basically I’m trying to form a jazz band where I play bass, along with a drummer, keyboardist and sax player. I’m primarily a guitarist but have sacrificed this in order to play bass for the band as we didn’t have a bassist.

But the band quite likes me playing guitar, to which I say - but then we’ve got no bass player…so I’ll have to play bass. I’d like us to try and find a bassist, but the drummer’s not bothered and would rather we kept as a four-piece for some reason. (He even said there’d be less money to share out if there’s five of us! He’s obviously got his priorities right then…! As if we we’ll get gigs when we won’t be sounding so great as we’ll be without bass).

So back to square one…I have to play bass as we don’t have a bassist. The drummer seems to think bass is unnecessary in a band…and often picks the White Stripes as an example! He even said once that when he listens to music he doesn’t really hear the bass. (When I listen to music I hear every instrument!!). He might not notice, but an audience will, and we’ll frankly sound cr@p without bass…especially since it’s jazz we’re doing.

Am I going mad or something? I tell him, how come every band has a bass guitar (or double bass or keyboard bass even)? “Er well the White Stripes don’t have bass”. Bad example, and they’re hardly he pinnacle of music. And they don’t play play jazz anyway, like we do.

Arrgh! I’m banging my head against a brick wall. Please help. How do I deal with this? The other band members kind of agree with me, but somehow at the same time don’t seem to think the lack of bass is necessarily a great problem.